books · Readathon

OWLS Readathon Wrap Up

Hey everyone! As I told you in my OWLS Readathon post, I took part in the OWLs Readathon that took place all over April and was hosted by the amazing booktuber G @BookRoast.

OWLs Readathon 2019 is an awesome Harry Potter themed readathon coming up in April


THE PROMPTS AND THE BOOKS I READ FOR EACH

Screen Shot 2019-05-03 at 6.08.43 PM.png

So, overall I read 10 books this month and fitted them all to complete 10 prompts!

As I told you in my post where I shared my TBR, I wanted to read up to 7 books so I could become a Hogwarts Professor and now, I can since I read 10 books and completed all the OWLs prompts needed to do all the NEWTs needed to do become a Hogwarts Professor!


CAREERS

HOGWARTS PROFESSOR 

O.W.L.S. REQUIREMENTS:

  • 7 O.W.L.s
  • Compulsory: Defense Against The Dark Arts and the subject you want to teach.

And now that I have read the books for OWLs, I can do the NEWTs in August and be a Hogwarts Professor, so yay!

Let’s look at the other Careers I had thought of and if I could achieve them in case I can’t do all the NEWTs needed for becoming a Hogwarts Professor.

JOURNALIST OR WRITER

O.W.L.S. REQUIREMENTS:

  • 3 O.W.L.s
  • Compulsory: History of Magic and Muggle Studies

and since I have read History of Magic and Muggle Studies and done 3 OWLs, I can also be a Journalist or a Writer!

LIBRARIAN 

O.W.L.S. REQUIREMENTS:

  • 5 O.W.L.s
  • Compulsory: Defense Against The Dark Arts, Transfiguration, Ancient Runes, Arithmancy and History of Magic

This won’t work out since I couldn’t do the Ancient Runes OWLs. So, well, bye-bye to becoming a Librarian!


And that’s a wrap! So, I’ll talk to you all more about the Magical Readathon in August when I’ll be doing the NEWTs prompts!

Did you all take part in this readathon too? Which books did you read? What career have you chosen? Were you able to finish all the prompts you had wanted to? Tell me in the comments below. 

-Jayati

5 thoughts on “OWLS Readathon Wrap Up

  1. I tried to become a Librarian too for my OWLS but I too could not get past my Ancient Runes book, A Curse so Dark and Lonely. Glad you chose different careers though!

    Like

  2. Wow – this is so fun! I love that these kinds of reading challenges are out there. a Harry Potter one would have been amazing!

    Like

Leave a comment