books

You Had Me At Hola || Audiobook Review

Hey everyone! Today I’m back with the review for an amazing book I enjoyed a lot! I listened to its audiobook and it was so much fun! I just couldn’t stop listening to it – it was so dramatic and intense and fun to read!

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

BOOK REVIEW:

Sizzling chemistry, over the top drama and a meddling family are the making of a fun and dramatic book and this one had all three! 

The book begins on a very sad note where both Jasmine and Ashton have had major problems going on in their lives and I couldn’t help but empathise with them. Jasmine and her public breakup and Ashton’s secret intrigued me and listening to the audiobook made me feel like I was them and was almost on the verge of tears when I heard his story. 

Their initial meet cute is also one of the cutest ever, with both of them way too preoccupied with what is going on in their heads and leading to a disastrous event which they take forever to recover from! Honestly, I loved ever part of it, including how it was overly dramatic and tense. 

Their relationship progresses slow and steadily and yet too fast and well, it was kind of perfect too. There were problems and misunderstanding and reservations about what they were doing, yes, but also a need to get to know the other person and being there for them and sharing some of their personal demons and well, it made me fall for them. 

I also loved for sex positive the entire book and how it was displayed. It very clearly captures how even a man could want to hold back and it just made everything feel real which is sometimes glazed over. 

I also loved the character development. The characters do have an intense love story but they also have personal problems to get through and I love how they are addressed and worked through in the course of the book, leading to character development which I think forms an integral part of every book. It helped me connect with the characters and humanise them in a way that can often be hard to do when writing about celebrities. 

Another thing I loved- yes I know me loving everything is getting old but what can I say, I did! – is the family dynamics. They were messy and complicated but well portrayed. I loved how both the MCs valued their families and very close to them, though in different ways. It was interesting to see the family dynamics also because I have a big, messy family and two cousins I’m close to like Jasmine does and well, family is not often an important part in many books which is understandable but it was great to see it and feel recognised! 

And lastly, I loved the cover! t’s so pretty and representative!

MY RATING: 4.5 STARS

Have you read this book yet? Did you like it? Are you planning to read it in the future? Tell me in the comments below! 

– Jayati

6 thoughts on “You Had Me At Hola || Audiobook Review

  1. I have heard so many mixed things about this book so I am really excited to see that you enjoyed it!
    I’ve put the audiobook on hold from the library after reading your glowing review, and though I am apparently about 18 weeks off of getting access to it, I hope it will be worth the wait! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s